Federazione Italiana Giuoco Calcio

Under 16 National Team

Roma 16/03/2017

Patrizia Panico to lead the Azzurrini against Germany with Verona hosting a new VAR test

Patrizia Panico to lead the Azzurrini against Germany with Verona hosting a new VAR test

For the first time in history, a female coach will lead a male Italy team with Patrizia Panico replacing Daniele Zoratto on the Under-16 National Team’s bench for two friendlies against Germany on Wednesday 22nd March at the Stadio Bentegodi in Verona at 14:30 CEST and on Friday 24th March at the Stadio Comunale in Caldiero Terme.
An entrant of the Italian Football Hall of Fame in 2015, Patrizia Panico is a real icon of the women’s game as she made the most Azzurre appearances with 204, scoring 110 goals.

Verona is hosting an Italy match for the first time since 6th June when the senior side played Finland, winning 2-0 in their final match before Euro 2016.  

Italy vs. Germany is also a classic fixture at youth level and it will see further experimentation with VAR (Video Assistant Referees) in online mode. The international referee Daniele Orsato will take charge of the match with Giorgio Peretti and Omar Gava his assistants. Piero Giacomelli is the fourth official and the video assistants will be Gianluca Rocchi and Paolo Valeri.
After the technology made its debut in the match between Gian Piero Ventura’s Italy and France in Bari on 1st September, tests were repeated in Novemebr for Italy vs. Germany (senior), Italy vs. Denmark (Under-21) in Bergamo and VAR was used in online mode for the first time in Italy at the Under-19 match in Udine between Italy and Spain.

VAR was tested again in online mode on 22nd February and 8th March in Bologna and Empoli as the cities hosted the Under-19 National Team against France and the Under-18 National Team against Denmark.

Squad List
Goalkeepers: Alessandro Russo (Genoa), Matteo Cardinali (Roma);
Defenders: Alberto Barazzetta (Milan), Pietro Lattanzi (Empoli), Antony Angileri (Palermo), Nicolò Armini (Lazio), Paolo Gozzi Iweru(Juventus), Francesco Semeraro (Roma), Emoshogue DarrelAgbugui (Hellas Verona);
Midfielders: Giuseppe Iglio (Milan), Davide Angelo Ghislandi (Atalanta), Manu Emmanuel Gyabuaa (Atalanta), Mattia Sandri (Torino), Eric Lirussi (Udinese), Riccardo Tonin (Milan), Alessandro Cortinovis (Atalanta), Giuseppe Leone (Juventus);
Forwards: Roberto Piccoli (Atalanta), Alessio Riccardi (Roma), Edoardo Vergani (Inter).
Staff – Delegation Head: Francesco Selvaggi; Coaches: Patrizia Panico and Paolo Nicolato; Secretary: Alessandro Lulli; Goalkeeping Coach: Davide Quironi; Doctor: Cosma Calderaro; Physiotherapist: Marco Di Salvo;