F.I.G.C.

Federazione Italiana Giuoco Calcio

A National Team

Roma 30/01/2018

Italy to face Argentina on 23rd March in Manchester

Italy to face Argentina on 23rd March in Manchester

It’s always a fascinating match-up between Italy and Argentina with six World Cups held between the two countries. They will meet on Friday 23rd March at 19:45 GMT or 20:45 CET in a friendly at the Etihad Stadium in Manchester in the first fixture of 2018 for the Azzurri before they face England at Wembley in another glamorous friendly at 20:00 GMT or 21:00 CET on Tuesday 27th March. 

Italy will be playing at the current home of Manchester City for the first time. The only previous match played in Manchester was on 19th June 1996 at Old Trafford when Italy drew 0-0 with Germany and were eliminated from the European Championship. It will be the 14th match between the two nations with a record of six Italy wins, five draws and three Argentina wins including one in the most recent meeting which was a friendly organised in honour of Pope Francis on 14th August 2013 at Rome’s Stadio Olimpico where the Albiceleste won 2-1 with Lorenzo Insigne, Gonzalo Higuain and Ever Banega on the scoresheet.