Federazione Italiana Giuoco Calcio


Roma 26/03/2018

Allegri wins the Panchina d’Oro, five Italian coaches who won abroad also recognised

Allegri wins the Panchina d’Oro, five Italian coaches who won abroad also recognised

Massimiliano Allegri won the 2016-17 Panchina d’Oro. On the day of the FIGC’s 120th anniversary, the Juventus Coach was voted as the best Coach from the past Serie A season by his peers. Allegri won the league, the Coppa Italia and reached the final of the Champions League. Again this year, the Coach from Livorno is on track on all fronts with his side top of the table, set to play AC Milan in the Coppa Italia final and still in contention for the Champions League where they’ll face Real Madrid in the quarter-finals in a rematch of last year’s final. 

"I thank my players, the club that gives me great players each year and my staff," said Allegri as he received the prize from FIGC Extraordinary Commissioner Roberto Fabbricini. "My thanks also go to all the Coaches present today and I wish them the very best of luck for this final stage of the season."

For Allegri, it’s his fourth award after he previously claimed the Panchina d’Oro, Prima Divisione when he led Sassuolo in the 2007-8 Lega Pro season. He won two the Panchina d’Oro again during his first season at Cagliari (2008-9) and the 2014-15 edition during his first season at Juventus. 

"The Coach was and still is a central figure in football and will be above all in the future," said the Extraordinary Commissioner Roberto Fabbricini. "Your field has significant responsibility towards young people where you set an example and are educators along with the whole of Italian football where our school is recognised as a symbol of excellence across the world. It’s special at this edition we’re celebrating 120 years," added Fabbricini, 120 years to the day when the Federazione Italiana Giuoco Calcio was formed on 15th March 1898 in Turin. 

Along with the Extraordinary Commissioner, CEO and UEFA Vice-President Michele Uva, Technical Sector President Gianni Rivera, AIAC and Coaching School Director Renzo Ulivieri, AIA President Marcello Nicchi, Lega Pro President Gabriele Gravina, National Futsal Division Andrea Montemurro and Lega Serie B Director General Paolo Bedin all spoke. 

After winning the Panchina d’oro Lega Pro a year ago, Leonardo Semplicic took the prize of the Panchina d’argento as the best coach in the 2016-17 Serie B season after taking Spal to the top flight. It’s the Tuscan’s third award, after he also won the Panchina d’argento Seconda Divisione in the 2008-9 season as Figline Coach. 

"I have to share this prize with my staff and the club but above all I dedicate it to the key players from an extraordinary season: my players. It’s thanks to them that I’m here to collect this award." 

Foggia’s Giovanni Stroppa picked up a first personal prize after leading the Rossoneri to Serie B. 

"The deepest thanks go to all those who’ve worked with me," said the Coach from Puglia. "I dedicate this prize to Giuseppe Di Bari who was the Sporting Director who wanted me at Foggia."  

Last year was also a successful side for Italian coaches abroad as they won five league titles. They were: Carlo Ancelotti (Bayern Munich, Germany), Roberto Bordin (Sheriff, Moldova), Massimo Carrera (Spartak Moscow, Russia), Antonio Conte (Chelsea, Engand) and Marco Rossi (Honved, Hungary). The FIGC’s Technical Sector dedicated five special Panchine d’oro to them in celebration of their achievements away from Italy. 

"My most sincere compliments go to them," added Allegri. "These triumphs show that they are very good coaches." 

After being voted for at the Aiac meeting last July, the Panchina d’oro argento for women’s football was collected by Sauro Fattori of Fiorentina Women’s for winning the first Scudetto in club history and Federica D’Astolfo of Reggiana collected her third Panchina d’oro for leading the Emilian side to Serie A. 

This year, awards were also presented for top flight futsal. David Marin Ortega took the Panchina d’oro calcio a cinque for his season at Luparense where he won the men’s Serie A while Daniele D’Orto of Olimpus Roma took the Panchina d’argento for success in women’s Serie A and the Coppa Italia. 

Voting Results


Massimiliano Allegri, Juventus, 19 votes 
Gian Piero Gasperini, Atalanta, 11 votes
Maurizio Sarri, Napoli, 7 votes
Leonardo Semplici, Spal, 28 votes
Marco Baroni, Benevento, 6 votes
Fabio Pecchia, Hellas Verona, 3 votes
Giovanni Stroppa, Foggia,  31 votes
Filippo Inzaghi, Venezia, 16 votes
Attilio Tesser, Cremonese, 15 votes