Nazionale A Femminile

Algarve Cup draw takes place: Italy paired with Portugal

Eight teams will be involved in the tournament: the new format sees each side enter at the quarter-final stage

Tuesday, January 7, 2020

Algarve Cup draw takes place: Italy paired with Portugal

Twelve years on from when they were last involved, Italy Women are once again set to play in the Algarve Cup, one of the most prestigious tournaments in women’s football. This year, it will take place from 4 to 11 March and include the following eight teams: Italy, Portugal, Denmark, Norway, Sweden, Belgium, New Zealand and Germany. The Germans are one of the best sides in women’s football and will be involved in the 27th edition of the competition in south Portugal after a four-year absence.

The draw today saw Italy paired with hosts Portugal at the quarter-final stage. The tournament this year has a new format: the eight teams will play their quarter-final clashes on 4 March, with the four winners qualifying for the semi-finals which will take place on 7 March. On the same day, the fifth-eighth place semi-finals will be played. The seventh, fifth and third place matches will all take place on 10 March, while the final is scheduled for 11 March.

Norway emerged victorious in the competition last year after beating Poland in the final. The United States are the team who have won it the most (ten times), ahead of Norway (five) and Sweden (four).

Today’s draw placed the following sides together:

New Zealand vs. Belgium
Portugal vs. Italy
Germany vs. Sweden
Denmark vs. Norway